Architects Foundation Quadruples Scholarships Awarded to Students Attending NAAB-Accredited Schools of Architecture

The Architects Foundation is quadrupling its number of scholarships from last year and awarding 20 new multiyear scholarships to students attending NAAB-accredited schools of architecture.

The Foundation, a philanthropic partner of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), is also more than doubling the number of students currently assisted by its multiyear scholarship program with a $1 million investment from AIA. As part of the program, scholars receive $4,000 per year for up to five years.

“The Diversity Advancement Scholarship was established by the AIA and the Ford Foundation following a 1968 speech by Whitney M. Young Jr. calling upon architects to do more for the community. Young’s charge included scholarships for minority students, and in 1970, 20 awards were made,” says Architects Foundation Executive Director Marci Reed. “Fifty years after Young’s challenge, we are pleased to be back at this level of effort to create a diverse next generation of architects and community builders.”

Two of the 20 scholars are funded by Benjamin Moore & Co. Foundation and will receive an additional $1,000 per year. The AIA Custom Residential Architects Network also funded a scholar this year who has expressed interest in residential architecture. Recipients of the 2018-2019 Diversity Advancement Scholarships will be recognized at the AIA Conference on Architecture (A’18) in New York.

Eight scholarship recipients, including new scholars Maly Sears and Caroline Senyszyn, will attend A’18, which was made possible in part by Benjamin Moore & Co. Foundation, ConstructConnect, Cooper Carry, and Lord Aeck Sargent.

The 2018-2019 Diversity Advancement Scholarship recipients are:

  • Esmeralda Aceituno of Los Angeles
  • Daniel Allen of Chicago
  • Elizabeth Amigon of Sunnyside, N.Y.
  • Annabelle Asali of Los Angeles
  • Shanelle Brown of Fairhope, Ala.
  • Nina Crosby Walton of Frederick, Md.
  • Andrea De Haro of Doral, Fla.
  • Genesis Gadberry of San Angelo, Texas
  • Isabella Greco of Chicago
  • Joya Ma of Phoenix
  • Lauren McLean of Mount Vernon, N.Y.
  • Hana Morrison of Honolulu (scholar funded by AIA Custom Residential Architects Network)
  • Amy Rojas of San Antonio
  • Sarah Saad of East Elmhurt, N.Y.
  • Maly Sears of Adrian, Mo. (scholar funded by Benjamin Moore & Co. Foundation)
  • Caroline Senyszyn of Fort Worth, Texas (scholar funded by Benjamin Moore & Co. Foundation)
  • Luiza Vara of Phoenix
  • Ania Yee-Boguinskaia of Houston
  • Nahom Zeleke of Columbia, Ala.
  • Carolina Zuniga of Doral, Fla.

Complete details of the Architects Foundation’s scholarship program are available online.

Be the first to comment on "Architects Foundation Quadruples Scholarships Awarded to Students Attending NAAB-Accredited Schools of Architecture"

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: