ASTM International Thermal Insulation Committee Presents the Award of Merit

The ASTM International committee on thermal insulation (C16) has presented its top annual award – the Award of Merit – to David W. Yarbrough of R&D Services Inc. in Cookeville, Tenn. The award, which includes the accompanying title of fellow, is recognition for individual contributions to developing standards.

The committee honored Yarbrough for service, dedication, and contributions in developing standards related to the committee on thermal insulation, and for expertise, leadership, and professionalism.

Yarbrough has been a member of ASTM International since 1980 and is also a member of the committee on performance of buildings (E06). The committee on thermal insulation previously awarded Yarbrough with the Award of Appreciation in 1992 and 2000, the Committee C16 Honors award in 1997, and the David L. McElroy Award in 2015.

Yarbrough, vice president of R&D Services Inc., previously served as a professor and department chair of chemical engineering at the Tennessee Technological University, and a research staff member at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He holds bachelor’s, master’s, and doctorate degrees in chemical engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology.

In addition to ASTM International, Yarbrough is a member of the Tennessee Academy of Science, ASHRAE, the Building Enclosure Technology and Environment Council of the National Institute of Building Sciences, and the International Thermal Conductivity Conference. He is a registered professional engineer in Tennessee and Florida.

Be the first to comment on "ASTM International Thermal Insulation Committee Presents the Award of Merit"

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: