BIA Opens Call for Entries for the 2018 Brick in Architecture Awards

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has opened its call for entries for the 2018 Brick in Architecture Awards, the architectural design competition featuring fired-clay brick. Entries must be submitted online by April 30.

The annual awards honor architecture that incorporates clay brick products as the predominant exterior building or paving material.

“Brick in Architecture Award winners demonstrate the limitless design flexibility of brick, and it is increasingly part of any sustainable building program,” says BIA President Ray Leonhard.

Achieving design vision through a material made from natural resources, projects will be judged by a jury of peers. The winners will be announced in June: Best in Class, Gold, Silver and Bronze.

Architectural and design firms may enter projects completed since Jan. 1, 2013, in which new clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50 percent), including face or hollow brick; building brick; thin brick; paving brick; glazed brick; structural glazed facing tile; new clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of any of these units and more.

Entries must be submitted online in one or more of these categories:

  • Commercial
  • Education – K-12
  • Education – Colleges & Universities (Higher Education)
  • Residential – Single Family
  • Residential – Multi-Family
  • Paving & Landscape Projects

Note about Renovations (Additions) / Restoration (Restoring): Projects that have been renovated or restored should be submitted in the category they fit best. Additions and renovations/restorations must use at least 50 percent new clay brick products on the building.

Best in Class winners will receive national recognition through a Brick in Architecture insert in the December 2018 issue of Architect magazine. Other winners will be included in the insert, “Brick News Online,” a press release and featured in the BIA online photo gallery.

For information or questions, contact Tricia Mauer at [email protected].

Be the first to comment on "BIA Opens Call for Entries for the 2018 Brick in Architecture Awards"

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: