EMA and EPA ENERGY STAR to Co-host Free Webinar about Benchmarking

The trend continues for state and local governments to require commercial building owners to benchmark their buildings using ENERGY STAR’s Portfolio Manager and to submit the results for public disclosure. These disclosure laws are driving demand for benchmarking services and efficiency projects to help building owners improve upon the performance levels revealed through benchmarking. In some jurisdictions, requirements include regular energy audits or retro-commissioning for buildings that aren’t certified or don’t achieve a certain score threshold. Commissioning and energy services providers can take advantage of this trend by understanding which localities have disclosure ordinances, what the reporting deadlines are, and by offering timely services to support compliance and improvement of scores.

Webinar Title: State and Local Energy Policies:  Trends in Energy Benchmarking and Disclosure

Sponsors: EMA, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency | ENERGY STAR Program

When: August 29, 2019, 12:30 PM Eastern / 11:30 AM Central / 10:30 AM Mountain / 9:30 AM Pacific

Duration: One hour

Registration Link

Presenters: Brendan Hall, Program Manager, ENERGY STAR, and Edward Armstrong, Executive Director, EMA

Learning Objectives:

  • Understanding the trend toward energy transparency through state and local government policies
  • Knowing the role of ENERGY STAR’s Portfolio Manager in government policies in order to support compliance
  • Identifying ordinances that incorporate requirements for improvements and how those laws are structured
  • Understanding the business opportunity that benchmarking laws present for engineering and architecture firms

Continuing Education Credits: AIA 1 LU/HSW

Cost: Free

The Energy Management Association is dedicated to providing education, training and certification to energy management professionals on behalf of building owners. Its Energy Management Professional Certification (EMP) features a commissioning-based curriculum that maximizes energy efficiency and optimization of building systems.

ENERGY STAR tools and resources help businesses determine cost-effective approaches to managing energy use in their buildings—enabling the private sector to save energy, increase profits, and strengthen their competitiveness.  Thousands of businesses and organizations look to ENERGY STAR for guidance on strategic energy management.   And, the program’s popular online tool, ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager®, has been used to measure and track the energy performance of hundreds of thousands of commercial buildings across the nation.  Studies find that ENERGY STAR certified buildings command a premium of up to 16 percent for sales prices and rental rates. 

Be the first to comment on "EMA and EPA ENERGY STAR to Co-host Free Webinar about Benchmarking"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


%d bloggers like this: