Energy Management Association to Host ‘Decarbonization for Dummies’ Webinar

The Energy Management Association is teaming up with Kimley-Horn to host a free AIA-approved webinar where the speaker discusses how climate change impacts building construction and operation become paramount, building designers, architects, and engineers need to take immediate action. This course will provide design professionals with information about the key issues of decarbonizing the building sector. It will outline some specific steps to be taken to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from buildings.

Learning Objectives

  • Define what “decarbonizing” a building means, including explaining key terms such as “embodied carbon”, and “net zero carbon”.
  • Use key approaches in building design, material selection, and specification to reduce the embodied carbon in the building envelope and structure.
  • Employ beneficial electrification to reduce buildings’ operational carbon dioxide emissions.
  • Design to meet building performance standards as more local jurisdictions adopt these practices to meet community greenhouse gas emission reduction goals.

Webinar Title: Decarbonization for Dummies
When: January 24, 2023, 2:00 PM Eastern / 1:00 PM Central / 12:00 PM Mountain / 11:00 AM Pacific
Registration Link: https://www.energymgmt.org/decarbonization-for-dummies-register/
Presenters: Al LaPera, CxA, EMP, LEED AP, Kimley-Horn

Continuing Education Credits: AIA 1 LU

Cost: Free

Who Should Attend? Building Owners & Facility Managers, Architects, Commissioning Providers, Energy Managers, MEP Engineers, HVAC Testing Professionals, and other Building Professionals.

Sponsored byKimley-Horn

Founded in 1967, Kimley-Horn is a full-service, employee-owned, multidisciplinary consulting firm offering a broad range of engineering, planning, landscape architecture, and environmental services to clients in both the public and private sectors. With more than 7,000 employees in 100 offices across the United States and Puerto Rico, Kimley-Horn is a national leader in sustainable development and provides innovative, implementable solutions.

Be the first to comment on "Energy Management Association to Host ‘Decarbonization for Dummies’ Webinar"

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: