NEMA Announces Its Annual Award Winners

The National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) has announced its annual award winners to recognize both individual and company contributions to the electrical and medical imaging industry. The award winners will be honored at the gala reception and dinner that concludes the NEMA Annual Meeting on Nov. 7, 2019, at the Naples Grande Beach Resort in Naples, Fla.

Timothy H. Powers retired former chairman, president and chief executive officer of Hubbell Inc., received the highest honor, the Bernard H. Falk Award, which recognizes outstanding achievements in technology, public affairs, management, trade, and other fields relevant to the electroindustry. Mr. Powers joined Hubbell in 1998 and advanced through various management positions before being appointed to president and chief executive officer in 2001. In 2004 he took on the added title of chairman. In addition to building Hubbell and its brands, he was involved with NEMA. Notably, he served on the NEMA Board of Governors for many years, including as chairman 2005-2006. During his time on the board, Mr. Powers provided vision, consistency, and direction, especially with his active involvement with the Board of Directors of IDEA, the industry’s eBusiness organization.

The R?ntgen Award commemorates the father of medical imaging, Wilhelm Conrad R?ntgen, who discovered x-rays and created the first medical image in 1895. This award celebrates pioneers within the Medical Imaging and Technology Alliance (MITA). Dr. Chuck Stearns, principal scientist at GE Healthcare, was awarded the R?ntgen Award this year for his contribution to the development and advancement in PET/CT imaging technology. For more than two decades, Dr. Stearns has been an active member within MITA and a well-recognized leader in the medical imaging equipment industry.

Patrick Avery, vice president, Power Grid Automation at G&W Electric Co. and Thomas J. Tobin, chief technology officer at S&C Electric Co. received the Kite & Key Award for their strategic work in codes and standards.

For more than 30 years, Mr. Avery has worked with industry manufacturers and end-users to enhance knowledge of standards and operating practices for new technologies and markets. He is active in various groups within NEMA, including the Grid Modernization and Internet of Things Councils, as well as the Utility Products and Systems Division.

Mr. Tobin has worked with S&C for nearly 50 years and has been involved in the development of all the company’s products. Mr. Tobin is instrumental to the advancement of power systems engineering, having served as a member of various NEMA groups and activities as well as committees within the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and National Institute of Standards and Technology.

The Illuminations Award for Business Innovation is presented to a NEMA member company that has demonstrated success through entrepreneurial growth or pioneered innovation. This year, ChargePoint Inc. received the Illuminations Award for its demonstrated success in advanced technology in electric vehicle charging networks. Since its establishment in 2007 by a group of entrepreneurs, the company now has more than 99,500 charging spots globally and thousands of customers in businesses, cities, fleets, and service providers.

Be the first to comment on "NEMA Announces Its Annual Award Winners"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: