NIBS Recognizes Outstanding Service During Annual Awards Ceremony

Each year, the National Institute of Building Sciences hosts an awards reception and banquet to recognize individuals and organizations that have provided outstanding service to the Institute, the building community and the nation. Institute board, staff and members honored the 2018 award winners at an annual awards ceremony held during Building Innovation 2019: The National Institute of Building Sciences Seventh Annual Conference and Expo, at the Mandarin Oriental in Washington, D.C.

The 2018 Institute Member Award

The Institute Member Award goes to a member of the Institute who has made a substantial contribution in support of the mission, goals and objectives of the Institute. Institute Board Chairman Joseph Donovan and Institute President Lakisha A. Woods presented the 2018 Member Award to Cheryl A. Smith, AIA, LEED-AP, principal at Cope-Linder Architects in Philadelphia. Smith received the award in recognition of her work and leadership in planning the fifth triennial BEST Conference Building Enclosure Science & Technology (BEST5), hosted in Philadelphia, in 2018. The event brought together the building community to share research, best practices, case studies and the latest technologies with leaders in building enclosure design. It was Smith’s idea to showcase the work of local firms and homegrown projects at BEST5, which brought a new dimension to the conference series.

“The blend of the national expertise, the authentic Philadelphia passion and the remarkable conversations and forged friendships during the conference inspired us to continue our journey and commitment to advocate for more building sciences in our design and construction,” says Smith, upon accepting the award.

The 2018 Institute Honor Award

The Institute Honor Award goes to individuals who have made a contribution to the nation and the building community. Institute Board Chairman Joseph Donovan and President Lakisha A. Woods presented the 2018 Honor Award to the Federal Emergency Management Agency; U.S. Economic Development Administration; U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development; International Code Council; Insurance Institute for Business and Home Safety; National Fire Protection Association and American Institute of Architects in recognition of their support of the development of the “Natural Hazard Mitigation Saves: 2017 Interim Report”. The report highlighted the benefits of two mitigation strategies; federally funded mitigation grants and designing buildings to exceed the provisions of the model codes. This report and the subsequent 2018 Interim Report provide data showing the impact of current mitigation efforts and offer information on potential mitigation strategies that communities can implement to reduce the impacts of natural hazards.

“These organizations provided financial sponsorship, technical engagement and the dissemination of project results,” says Chairman Donovan, upon presenting the award to the sponsors. “Through their participation, the impact of the Institute’s work is greatly expanded.”

The 2018 President’s Award

The Institute President’s Award is given to an individual or organization in recognition of efforts to assist in advancing the mission of the Institute. Institute President Emeritus Henry L. Green, Hon. AIA presented the 2018 President’s Award to Executive Assistant to the President Holly A. Velez, in recognition of her years of support, assistance and dedication to the National Institute of Building Sciences and for being a confidant to him during his role as president. The relationship forged over many years will stand as a testament to her work ethic and commitment.

“I will always cherish her assistance, friendship and unwavering support as this is the seal of my success at the Institute and throughout my career,” states Green, during his introduction.

“It’s been great. Thank you for taking a chance on me so many years ago,” responds Velez, upon accepting the award.” You’ve been a great mentor and friend and I’ve enjoyed every minute of our time together. I hope I can make my new president just as proud.”

The 2018 Mortimer M. Marshall Lifetime Achievement Award

The Mortimer M. Marshall Lifetime Achievement Award goes to someone who has demonstrated a lifetime of dedication to the mission and goals of the Institute. Established in 2011 and named after its first member who passed away in 2018, this award is bestowed upon those who exhibit the passion upon which the Institute is founded. Chairman Donovan presented the 2018 Mortimer M. Marshall Lifetime Achievement Award to President Emeritus Henry L. Green, Hon. AIA, in recognition of his contributions to the Institute over his decade of service.

“Ten years ago, when I came to the Institute, I said, ‘Angela (my wife), it’s just like we’re going to go to college; we’ll be there four years, but we’ll have money.’,” says Green, upon accepting his award. “And now, 10 years later, it’s been an incredible run. It’s been exhilarating; it’s been challenging; it’s been the pinnacle of my career. So many of you are a part of it. I look across the expanse of this room and I can say that there are markers along the way. Every one of you have assisted and helped me to get where I am at today. As my dad said to me a long time ago, ‘Leave a mark, not a blot.’ I pray that I’ve left a mark.”

Earlier in 2018, the Institute issued a call to the industry for nominations to identify potential award recipients. The Awards Committee reviewed the submissions and selected winners from the nominees, based on how their work meets the mission, objectives and goals of the Institute.

The Awards Committee will solicit nominations for 2019 awards in late spring of 2019, with nominations due in July.

Be the first to comment on "NIBS Recognizes Outstanding Service During Annual Awards Ceremony"

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: