AIASF Presents Recipients of Its 2018 Design Awards

The American Institute of Architects, San Francisco chapter (AIASF), has announced the award recipients of the 2018 AIASF Design Awards program at the Herbst Theatre, San Francisco War Memorial & Performing Arts Center. Master of ceremonies was Edgar Lopez, deputy director for buildings, and city architect for San Francisco Public Works.

“AIASF has a plethora of design firms each year. The jury has their work cut out for them, and this year was no exception,” says AIASF 2018 President Rosa Sheng, FAIA. “Our congratulations go to all honorees, and thank you to everyone who submitted and made the awards program this year another success.”

In existence for nearly half a century, AIA San Francisco Design Awards program recognizes the achievements in architecture and design of Bay Area individuals and organizations as well as celebrates the work of architects and related professionals from afar who contribute to the framework of our local built environment. The program serves to inform the public of the breadth and value of architectural practice.

“AIASF received over 200 submissions, featuring a wide spectrum of projects from across the globe,” AIASF Executive Director Jennifer Jones, CAE, IOM, comments. “Each project is innovative and inspiring; it is an honor for our chapter to recognize and celebrate the work of our local design community.”

The Design Awards submission is structured into main categories and optional concentrations. In addition to the design awards given in each main category – Architecture, Interior Architecture, and Unbuilt Design – the jury may also choose to recognize projects that exhibit special achievements in three concentrations, giving acknowledgement to projects that further encompass the values of good design within the context of historic preservation and social responsibility.

The 2018 AIASF Design Awards program was juried in Boston, in partnership with the Boston Society of Architects. The jury this year was Jeffry Burchard, AIA, Machado Silvetti; Jean Carroon, FAIA, Goody Clancy; Alex Diaz, NADAAA; Sara Elsa-Beech, Baker Design Group; BréAnna Romulus, DREAM Collaborative.

The 2018 AIASF Design Award Honorees are featured online.

Be the first to comment on "AIASF Presents Recipients of Its 2018 Design Awards"

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: